Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Author(s): Blanco, E
Garcia Briones, M
Sanz Parra, A
Gomes, P
De Oliveira, E
Valero, ML
Andreu, D
Ley, V
Sobrino, F
Title: Identification of T-cell epitopes in nonstructural proteins of foot-and-mouth disease virus
Issue Date: 2001
Abstract: Porcine T-cell recognition of foot-and-mouth disease virus (FMDV) nonstructural proteins (NSP) was tested using in vitro lymphoproliferative responses, Lymphocytes were obtained from outbred pigs experimentally infected with FMDV, Of the different NSP, polypeptides 3A, 3B, and 3C gave the highest stimulations in the in vitro assays. The use of overlapping synthetic peptides allowed the identification of amino acid regions within these proteins that were efficiently recognized by the lymphocytes. The sequences of some of these antigenic peptides were highly conserved among different FMDV serotypes, They elicited major histocompatibility complex-restricted responses with lymphocytes from pigs infected with either a type C virus or reinfected with a heterologous FMDV, A tandem peptide containing the T-cell peptide 3A[21-35] and the B-cell antigenic site VP1 [137-156] also efficiently stimulated lymphocytes from infected animals in vitro. Furthermore, this tandem peptide elicited significant levels of serotype-specific antiviral activity, a result consistent with the induction of anti-FMDV antibodies. Thus, inclusion in the peptide formulation of a T-cell epitope derived from the NSP 3A possessing the capacity to induce T helper activity can allow cooperative induction of anti-FMDV antibodies by B cells.
Subject: Ciências biológicas
Biological sciences
Scientific areas: Ciências exactas e naturais::Ciências biológicas
Natural sciences::Biological sciences
Document Type: Artigo em Revista Científica Internacional
Rights: openAccess
Appears in Collections:FCUP - Artigo em Revista Científica Internacional

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
89197.pdf1.4 MBAdobe PDFThumbnail

This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons